WordPress 005 – Bookish Things

Hi everyone.  Thanks for visiting my blog, reading, liking, commenting, all that you do.  I appreciate it!

 

So today, I decided to break up some of my book experiences with another kind of post, and I thought about showing some of my bookmarks and other bookish things.  I’m sure everyone uses different things when they’re reading a book, so allow me to show you some of mine.  :)

 

These are in no particular order.  Though now that I look at it, I suppose they are from least unique to most unique…?

 

Image

This bookmark is one that I got from The Mission Inn in Riverside, and I had to go there to research it for a project in high school.  There was a little gift shop there, and I poked my head in to see if there was anything that interested me.  There was, and it was this bookmark of… *reads the back* …the Cloister Wing’s Carmel Dome, constructed in 1910.

 

Image

Here are two adorable dog-bone-shaped metal bookmarks, and having two dogs myself, I thought they were rather perfect for me.  I got the one with the black text first before I found the white one.  I love our two dogs (and our cat) very much.  <3

 

Image

This is a Persian rug bookmark that I ordered from a fundraiser.  It reminds me of the time back in like 4th grade where we had this contest to color in a Persian rug.  That was a momentous task because there were so many little details, and it took me forever.  I think only a handful of students actually did it, so we were winners by default and won art supplies as our prizes, such as crayons, colored pencils, a small paint kit, etc.  It was certainly fun though; I haven’t colored like that in a long time.  :)

 

Image

I love the color green, so this is a favorite bookmark of mine.  It is technically like a paint color card that we used to choose the color and to paint the exterior of our house, but I ended up keeping it because it’s green, and I can use it as a bookmark.  Because… why not?

 

ImageImage

I believe I found this bookmark in one of the books I bought from Goodwill, and it looks pretty cool.  It’s actual wood, but the fragrance is now gone from it, which is perhaps a good thing because I don’t want to have the pages of my books have a fragrant-y smell.  I love the smell of old books though, old books, new books, just that “book smell.”  It’s glorious, and I love it.

 

ImageImage

I bought these little “Last Line” bookmarks from Barnes & Noble because I thought they would be rather useful.  I included an example picture of how to use it (and if you can guess which book it was that I used the bookmark on, I’d say you’re very observant).  You can use it on either page of course, just turn it over if you’re using the page on the left.  I am pretty good at remembering where I left off, even though I stopped in the middle of the page or it’s been a while since I read something (especially since I read multiple books at a time), so I haven’t used the bookmarks as much.  Still, they’re pretty neat.

 

Image

Here is another that I also found in Barnes & Noble, and the title of this bookmark is rather misleading because it says “50 books to read before you die,” but it’s really more like 50 books and series.  I’ll list them all here, and you can see how much you have read, according to this list.  :)

01 – The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien

02 – 1984 by George Orwell

03 – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

04 – The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

05 – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

06 – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

07 – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

08 – A Passage to India by E. M. Forster

09 – The Lord of the Flies by William Golding

10 – Hamlet by William Shakespeare

11 – A Bend in the River by V. S. Naipaul

12 – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

13 – The Cather in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

14 – The Bell Jar by Silvia Plath

15 – Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

16 – The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank

17 – Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes

18 – The Bible by Various

19 – The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer

20 – Ulysses by James Joyce

21 – The Quiet American by Graham Greene

22 – Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks

23 – Money by Martin Amis

24 – Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

25 – Moby Dick by Herman Melville

26 – The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

27 – His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman

28 – Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

29 – Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

30 – Rebbeca by Daphne du Maurier

31 – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

32 – On the Road by Jack Kerouac

33 – Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

34 – The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope

35 – The Outsider by Albert Camus

36 – The Colour Purple by Alice Walker

37 – Life of Pi by Yann Martel

38 – Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

39 – The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells

40 – Men Without Women by Ernest Hemingway

41 – Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

42 – A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

43 – Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

44 – Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defor

45 – One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

46 – Catch 22 by Joseph Heller

47 – The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas

48 – Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

49 – The Divine Comedy by Alighieri Dante

50 – The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

 

Personally I have read 17 on the list in their entirety (I have them bolded), and I own another 16 that I haven’t read.  How much have you read on the list?  :)

 

Image

I’ve been trying to reteach myself how to crochet lately, something that I learned from my mom like years and years ago.  I don’t know how to do much with it, and I was just practicing with this bit of yarn that I had, and it started to look sort of like a bookmark.  What if I just crocheted my own bookmark?  That would be awesome.  :D  I know that there are other bookmark designs to crochet, but I’ll have to work my way up there.

 

Image

And now, some non-bookmark things.  This is my booklight for reading in bed before I go to sleep, which I normally do.  I don’t like having the room light on just for reading, so I thought I would buy this little booklight when I have to read, and it’s been working like a charm.  The light isn’t so blindingly bright, and the clip is such a way that it won’t damage the pages of the book.  Whether the book is hardcover or paperback, it just fits, and I like it.  Our cat does too apparently, so he likes to bat it with its paw sometimes while I’m reading.

 

Image

I found this Book Lover’s Journal in Barnes & Noble, and I think I’m that kind of person who just collects pretty journals/diaries but rarely writes in them.  I haven’t really used this yet, even though I see how practical and organized it is.  It’s not that I haven’t tried to use it either, but I discovered there isn’t enough space to put down all my thoughts on the one page the journal provides per book.  I might as well put all of that on this blog!

 

Image

Finally, I have this Book Giver button from last year’s first annual World Book Night (it’s now attached to my purse).  I was really lucky and glad to be chosen as a Book Giver, and I was able to give away 20 copies of The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien to some students I was student teaching last year.  Such a good feeling.  The next one is this Tuesday, April 23.  Spread the joy of reading by giving away books!

 

So, that’s all I have right now.  Thanks for reading, and until next time, take care!

Leave a Reply

