WordPress 007 – Monthly Wrap-up 001 (April 2013)

Hi everyone.

It’s nearing the end of the month, and I thought I would do a quick post on the books that I finished in April and what I am currently reading and hoping to finish in the near future (though not necessarily in the next month).

Finished in April

NeverUseWhiteTypeonaBlackBackground

Never Use White Type on a Black Background and 50 Other Ridiculous Design Rules by Anneloes van Gaalen

I picked this up earlier this month, and it will be included in this month’s book haul that will be posted up next week.  It was really the cover and the entire concept of white text on a black background that interested me because my eyes are rather sensitive to that combination (and perhaps even worse is red text on a black background).  It’s very short and quick read, and I think I got through it in an hour in between my tutoring sessions one Saturday.  Just quotes galore.

StreetcarNamedDesire

A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams

I read another famous play by Tennessee Williams before (The Glass Menagerie), and I’ve been meaning to read this one for a while.  One of my coworkers was reading this for class, so I thought I would read along and actually finished it rather quickly.  I always knew I read rather fast once I set my mind to it.

BookThief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Ah, yes, I finally finished this book and got a Book Experience up on it earlier this week.  Very interesting take on the unfolding of Nazi Germany.  Probably a book that I would most likely reread.

Secret

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

This is one of the books I picked up last month, if you remember it from March’s book haul.  I decided to read it because I was just too curious as to what “The Secret” was, and as it turned out, the book itself was quite repetitive.  I can’t say that I didn’t get anything out of it though.

HowtoTellifYourCatisPlottingtoKillYou

How to Tell if Your Cat is Plotting to Kill You by Matthew Inman

A graphic novel, if I had to describe it, just pictures everywhere.  This was a gift for my brother from a friend of his, and what does he do first?  He gives it to me, so I can read it.  How kind of him.  Anyway, yes we do have a cat, and some things in this really made me chuckle out loud.

VampireDarcysDesire

Vampire Darcy’s Desire by Regina Jeffers

I started this book years ago, and I finally finished the last 150 pages.  This is the third book I read of her Pride and Prejudice adaptations, and I thoroughly enjoyed them all (yes, even this one with Mr. Darcy as a vampire, which yes, I was wary/skeptical of).  I like her writing style, and I think it reminds me of Jane Austen’s a lot.  I have other series that tells Pride and Prejudice from Mr. Darcy’s point of view, and sometimes even beyond the original novel itself, so I am excited to get into that.

LittlePrince

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery

Now, I’ve been wanting to read this little book for ages, and when I finally got my hands on it, I finished it in one night in bed.  Quite poignant for such a small book, as you can see by the amount of Post-It tabs I stuck into it.  I like it very much.

Currently Reading

I am normally in the middle of multiple books at a time, so these are the ones I am currently reading.  I might pick up quick ones to read through as well here and there, like I did for this month.

InvisibleMonsters

Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

This was recommended to me a while back by one of my penpals, Kevin, so I’m working my way through it.  The only other thing I’ve read by Chuck Palahniuk was “Guts” (and it was for a class as well… imagine our surprise).

UBIK

UBIK by Philip K. Dick

Another recommended to me by Ken, and while it took a bit to get into the plot, it was rather mind-blowing already, the world that Dick created.  How did he think of these things?  Mind-blowing, I tell you.

OneFlewOvertheCuckoosNest

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

Another one I’ve been meaning to read, and one that my coworker is reading now after he finished A Streetcar Named Desire.  He said he didn’t quite understand what was going on and thought I might help.  So far, I’m just having a hard time remembering “mental hospital” instead of thinking “prison” because I’ve watched too much OZ.

GameofThrones

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

This is a bit of an ongoing series for me because I’m just trying to savor it each time I read.  I am getting through this incredible fast, much faster than I anticipated, so I feel like I have to set it down, or I would just devour it.  I’m just letting it all sink in and enjoying it.  I watched the TV series already, and I am just getting the best of both worlds because each one has something to give.

That’s all I have for now.  I think I’m reading much more and faster since I started this blog, which is rather exciting.  Granted, some of the books were short and fast to read (and one just had pictures just as much, so I might not even count that one).  We shall see how well I hold this up.

Thanks for reading. Until next time, take care!

6 thoughts on “WordPress 007 – Monthly Wrap-up 001 (April 2013)

  1. klr65 says:

    Oh gosh yay, I finally got you to read it. Let me know what you think of it, I’m dying of curiosity!

    And Game of Thrones…is it really worth the hype? I’ve been toying around with reading it.

    • Donna says:

      I’ve been reading it for a while after I acquired a copy of the book, which took me a few weeks to get my hands on it, I think? I will of course let you know. :) Took me some time to get into it, but then, it’s going by rather quickly!

      I watched the series first, and I think it’s rather good, especially because you don’t know what to expect. George R. R. Martin really makes you… fear for the characters you’ve invested yourself to, is the way I would put it.

  2. Looks like you have been getting all sorts of reading done! I have actually been reading more this past month than I have in a while. A couple of short story collections and a novel and a half, so far. I may or may not have mentioned it in my last letter.

    As for UBIK; you’ll find it takes a while to get into ANY of PKD’s books. I generally have to set aside at least two hours to start one of his books. Otherwise, you’ll lose track of all the characters and situations he mentions before the actual plot line is revealed. Ha!

    Hope all is well over there. I may or may not be sending over a few more short stories. If I remember to, that is. Take care!

    • Donna says:

      I know! Which is surprising, as I explained in the letter I’m currently replying to you with… it’s taking a while, but I’m getting it done! Hurray for reading!

      I think I got into UBIK by the second chapter, when Runciter visited Ella. But ah, I’ll explain all that to you when I’m done with it, or on here, or both! I hope I haven’t lost track of anything, since I am always reading multiple books a once. Normally I’m good at keeping everything straight.

      Everything is going well so far, though I am trying to get some projects finished within the next week, so that’s cutting into my letter-responding time. I’ll get them done though, as well as your letter. :)

      You know I’ll read anything! Thanks in advance.

  3. roundt88 says:

    Hi Donna, how are you finding Invisible Monsters? I read it a while back and I have to say I thought it was awesome.

    • Donna says:

      Invisible Monsters is a rather quick read for me so far. It took a bit to get into it, but I’m just going with the flow now, just going to see where it leads me. I have heard that it’s rather mind-blowing, so I’m excited to get further along. :) I’ll be sure to put up a Book Experience on it, once I get it all read.

Leave a Reply

