WordPress 008 – Book Experience 004 – The Secret by Rhonda Byrne (Spoilers)

Hi everyone, I hope that everything is going wonderfully.  The weather has been rather glorious this weekend, so I’m enjoying the nice spring weather (despite having multiple projects due for classes).  I love spring.

Anyway, today is another Monday, and I have another Book Experience, this time on The Secret by Rhonda Byrne.  WARNING: There will be spoilers, more likely than not.

SecretSecret2

I showed this book in my book haul last month, and I bought it because of the cover and what it reminded me of: wax seals, parchments, calligraphy, ink… very nostalgic.  And I wondered before if you can actually feel nostalgia for a time in the past that you have never lived through or experienced?  It’s a beautiful book under the dust jacket as well, as you can see the nice red and gold complementing each other and the gold lettering on the spine.  Apparently there’s a film based on this, from what I’ve read in the book.

I was somewhat skeptical as to what this “Secret” was because I had a feeling that it was going to be something rather cliche, even though it claims to be this… incredibly mysterious treasure of some sort that the great and famous people of the past had once possessed.  It was not as cliche as I thought it would be, but it was rather repetitive… I sort of got the message after the first chapter, but it went on for several more chapters, focusing on different aspects of life (money, relationships, health, etc.)

“The Secret” is the “law of attraction” or basically the power of positive thinking.  If you think good thoughts, good things will happen, and if you think bad thoughts, bad things will happen.  Pretty straightforward, and the author was probably right that it’s very difficult to change someone’s way of thinking from negative to positive, especially when they are suffering.  She goes through a lot of explanations and examples, which I found a bit repetitive, as were the quotes interspersed throughout the book that were mostly by the same people over and over with a few from the aforementioned great and famous people of the past mixed in.

Not much more to say on this, except stay positive everyone!

So, that is it for my Book Experience on The Secret.  If you have your own Book Experience or thoughts on the subject, I’d love to hear about it!

Thanks for reading. Until next time, take care!

Leave a Reply

