WordPress 009 – Book Haul 002 (April 2013)

Hi everyone.

May is here, so here is my book haul for April 2013.  Coincidentally, I got the same amount as I did in March, same amount of hardcovers and paperbacks as well. Hmm… Mysterious~

201304hardcover201304paperback

There they are: 8 hardcovers and 12 paperbacks.

NeverUseWhiteTypeonaBlackBackground

Never Use White Type on a Black Background and 50 Other Ridiculous Design Rules by Anneloes van Gaalen

Like I mentioned in my last week’s post, I picked this up because of the concept of putting white text on a black background, which I find difficult to read if it’s on a computer screen (and even worse is red text on black background).  However, this is not to say that it never works because the whole “Got Milk?” design totally works.  Interesting read, even though it was mostly quotes.

DawnsPrelude

Dawn’s Prelude by Tracie Peterson

Not quite sure when this novel is set in, but the plot seems interesting enough.  Since the female protagonist is getting married off, I would think this is set a while back.  I’m interested in seeing just what she does with the whole entire thing because it can tell a lot about her character.

SmokeThief

The Smoke Thief by Shana Abe

This doesn’t seem as simple as it first appears, not just about a really good thief and another trying to catch the thief, but there is more behind the characters.  For some reason, I’m always wary about novels that contain romantic relationships because I will either like it or… won’t.  Not that I dislike all kinds either, just have a particular taste I suppose.

7Tattoos

7 Tattoos by Peter Trachtenberg

I think tattoos are real interesting, even though I personally don’t have any.  This is basically a story behind the seven tattoos the author has, and perhaps for many tattoos, there is a story behind each one.  What went through someone’s mind when they decided to get one?

LifeofPi

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

I’ve been hearing too many things about this novel, so I might as well get it, read it, and see.

Yard

The Yard by Alex Grecian

I am liking the time period in this novel, and I just got through a Sherlock Holmes kind of phase, so this is suiting me just wonderfully.  I will have to see what this is going to be like.

2012ReturnofQuetzalcoatl

2012: The Return of Quetzalcoatl by Daniel Pinchbeck

Crop circles are both creepy, yet fascinating to me, so I thought this would be an interesting book to get into.  Maybe this is one of the end-of-the-world type things.

ScaryStoriesTreasury

The Scary Stories Treasury by Alvin Schwartz & Stephen Gammell (Illustrator)

So, I must be kind of crazy getting this because I’m terrified of the paranormal, and these books scare me beyond belief.  I did read the three books when I was younger, and it was really the illustrations by Stephen Gammell that haunt my mind even now.  Ken reminded me of these books in a recent letter and how they are changing the illustrations in a new edition, and I remember reading about it on a blog, even seeing the new pictures juxtaposed with the original.  I was like, “What… Are you kidding me now?”  Even though the pictures are beyond terrifying, that is something of an achievement, isn’t it?  To be able to scare someone so effectively with just pictures, just art, why are we replacing them?  That’d be depriving everyone of the essence of the books!  It’d be like… trying to change or cover up something terrible in the past, so no one will know about it in the future.  So, I went I bought this collection because I want to “remember” why it was so freaking scary.  And maybe show it off to people who don’t know how or why it was so scary.  I’m literally too scared to open up this book because I’m afraid of which picture I’ll end up seeing.  My heart clenches in fear every time I think about doing it. Ugh. (I’m such a wimp sometimes.)

LittlePrince

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery

This is one of those books I’ve been meaning to read forever, so I decided to just get it and read it right away last month.  I liked the beginning with the snake and the elephant, and for such a short book, it was very poignant, as evident by all the Post-It tabs I have there.

SearchingforDavidsHeart

Searching for David’s Heart by Cherie Bennett

This book I read a long time ago perhaps in middle school, and for memories’ sake, I acquired it again, so maybe I’ll read it again one of these days.  I liked the plot of it.

GlassMenagerie

The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams

This was the play I mentioned that I had read before, and I really connected with Laura, at least understood her.  I really enjoyed this play, and hm, maybe it would be something to see a performance adaptation for it or something.

JoyLuckClub

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

I had another copy of this before, the one with dragons on it, but I lent that out to a student that I tutored after school.  She was a good student, and I told her to keep it, so I had to get another one.  When I saw this, I immediately picked it up because this was a really pretty cover.

LastDickens

The Last Dickens by Matthew Pearl

The cover of this book drew me to it, and it’s about Charles Dickens, so why not?  Sounds pretty intense regarding an unfinished work by Dickens and… murder along the way.  Pretty intense.

Alchemyst

The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

I’ve enjoyed the Harry Potter series, and I wasn’t sure if this one is related to it at all, since Nicolas Flamel is an actual person.  The cover of it looks really nice though, and being a very visual person, I like things to be visually appealing.

AcrosstheNightingaleFloor

Across the Nightingale Floor by Lian Hearn

I used to be so into anything and everything Japan, but recently, I haven’t found much that interested me about it, except this book.  Something about assassins… sound very ninja-y.

MonsteofFlorence

The Monster of Florence by Douglas Preston

Murder mysteries have been intriguing me for quite some time, ever since I got into the whole thriller genre.  I didn’t notice this until I read the back that this was nonfiction, and I don’t normally read nonfiction (since I never know what to pick up, unlike with fiction), but this sounded interesting enough. Plus it is set in Italy (where Kevin is currently is, hello!).

VeryBadMen

Very Bad Men by Harry Dolan

Again with the whole crime thriller and how the cover looks.  It just looks very nice for some reason.  So many books to read, and sometimes, not enough time in the world to read them all.

HouseofDarkShadows

House of Dark Shadows by Robert Liparulo

Yeah, even though I’m scared of horror for the most part, I still pick up books like this.  I don’t know… I like the text of the title?  I’m a complex person.

Passion

Passion by Jude Morgan

This book has some of the most famous poets of the Romanticism movement: Lord Byron, Percy Bysshe Shelley, and John Keats, and they’re characters in this book, what?  I must read this!  Enough said.

AdventuresofHuckleberryFinn

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

So, I had another copy of this book, but then I found this one, and there’s like copies of the original manuscript in here.  So awesome.  So awesome!  So glad I found this one.  Always go hunting in your thrift stores!

Alrighty, that’s all 20 books once again.  I’m definitely trying to read much more quickly now, more than ever, and having this blog makes me feel like I’m doing so.  I can’t wait to get into reading some of the books I have, and I’d like to do another bookish post next week, one sort of about books, just something cool I found out in the internets.

Anyway, thanks for reading. Until next time, take care.

2 thoughts on “WordPress 009 – Book Haul 002 (April 2013)

  1. klr65 says:

    First, I also love your book hauls. I’m so jealous. Where do you find them all??

    I’ll be waiting for your judgement on Life of Pi. I wasn’t too impressed with it. And I have the EXACT same copy of The Joy Luck Club. I’ve read all of her novels. Brilliant.

    And hi! I’ll be in Florence on Monday, I’ll wave to you as soon as I arrive! I’m sending your letter in the post tomorrow! ^-^

    • Donna says:

      I love them too. :) I normally go to Goodwills to find the books because that’s basically the only place where I can go to get books (other than libraries, but they normally don’t have a constant new supply of books). Good news though is that the library near where I work is having a book sale next week. Yesss!

      The hype around a book can normally raise your expectations, and then when you read it, it’s not as impressive. I’ll have to see. *puts that into my TBR pile* And yay, I rather like this one. The cover is so pretty. :) I’ve been meaning to read other books by her because I related well with The Joy Luck Club.

      Hello hello! The book I have seems to refer to a rather infamous serial killer in Italian history (so it says on the back). Yikes. I hope you enjoy your time there though, and I look forward to your letter yay~ Thanks Kevin!

Leave a Reply

