WordPress 013 – Book Collector Tag

Hi everyone, today I’m going to try out a book tag.  There are so many different kinds of them, many of them really interesting to do.  I realize you are supposed to be “tagged” to do them, but it’s unlikely that I would be, so I’ll just do them anyway.

This one is called the “Book Collector Tag,” which contains some questions about your book collection.  As far as I can tell, the person who created it was booksforeverafter @ YouTube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Y6g1FFgC8E  I thought this would be a good one to do to give everyone an idea of what my book collection consists of and the like.

Without further ado:

How many books do you own?

I keep track of how many books I own with Goodreads, where I enter in and catalogue my novels and plays.  According to it, I have a little over 600 books now (especially since I went to a library book sale last night).  I had wanted to keep my book collection around 550 or so because that’s about how many that can fit in the two bookcases I have, but apparently that didn’t happen.

The thing is that I don’t catalogue all the books that I have.  Here is a (partial?) list of the books that I don’t count:

  • literature anthologies
  • graphic novels and manga
  • poetry books
  • books I’m swapping/giving away
  • books on the Japanese language from when I studied Japanese
  • oversized books (e.g. collected works of Shakespeare, John Milton)
  • textbooks
  • books on teaching
  • test preparation books
  • manuals (on writing and such)
  • dictionaries…

So, if I included all of that, I would easily have over 1,000 books.  I actually tried counting the extra books that I don’t include in my overall collection and stopped when I reached like 700 so… yeah, I have a lot of books.  Whoops.


How long has it taken to accumulate your collection?

I moved from one state to another in 2001, so that’s when I actually started accumulating my collection.  It was slow at first because I didn’t have the extra funds to put toward book buying.  When I got a part-time job, I started to buy more books, but it was still rather expensive to go to the bookstore and buy books at their regular prices.  I did have to buy books for school to read, especially in university for my undergrad, since I majored in English.  Ultimately, it’s really within the last few years that I acquired much of my collection because I discovered library book sales, books from thrift stores, bargain books that I can get for a fraction of the full price.  Imagine getting a book that used to cost $26 for only $1.  How awesome is that?


How often do you buy books?

I believe on average, I go about once or twice a month to buy books, and I don’t just go to one place.  I love going to Goodwills most of all, and there are about… 4 or 5 around where I live and work, so I try to hit all of them at once.  They are a bit more expensive than libraries, but there is such a varied collection to choose from that always changes and gets updated, so going there and finding some gems in the pile is really worth it.


How do you arrange your books?

I arrange them by author’s last name, which I find the most logical.  What I love to do is getting to reorganize my shelves whenever I have a book haul.  It is the most relaxing and productive thing to do when I have to move my books over and put the new books in the right place.  Sometimes I’m able to see books that I have forgotten about and go, “Oh yeah!  I have to read that…”  I’m a weird person maybe, but getting to spend some time with my books is one of the best feelings.


What was the first book you can remember buying?

I definitely don’t remember the first book I ever bought…  I bought so many, so I don’t remember the first one I ever bought with my own money.  T_T  *tears*


What was the last book that you purchased?

Like I mentioned, I went to a library book sale last night, so all of those books will be shown in the upcoming book haul.  :)


What is the longest book you own?

The longest book that is just a single novel that I have is A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin at 1,177 pages.

The longest book that is a collection of works that I have is The Completed Works of Shakespeare (5th edition) edited by David Bevington at 2,016 pages.


What is the shortest book you own?

The shortest book I own is Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (by J. K. Rowling) at only 42 pages.  I really would like to get a better version of this one because it’s an ex-library book, and it is in pretty rough shape.

So, that was the Book Collector Tag, and I hope that gives a bit of an insight on my book collection.  I do want to do more of these because they are so much fun, and some are very creative.  If you’d like to answer the questions yourselves, please do so!  I’d love to hear about them.

Anyway, thanks for reading as always. Until next time, take care!

Leave a Reply

