WordPress 014 – Book Experience 007 – Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith (Spoilers)

Hi everyone.

I’m on my last week of the semester, so I’ll be excited to get a little extra time to read more once I’m done.  I’ll wait another week to put up my Book Experience on UBIK, so I thought I’ll put one up on something that I just finished: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith.  WARNING: There will be spoilers, more likely than not.

PrideandPrejudiceandZombies

When it comes to Pride and Prejudice, I’m pretty much a big fan of the story.  I actually didn’t read the book first; I saw the movie with Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen (and I really like him as Mr. Darcy).  I really liked the time period when it set and the story and the characters, and funnily enough, my brother, who had read the book and saw the BBC series with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth for class, told me to get the BBC series because it was better than the movie.  So I got that and watched it and loved it some more.  Then finally I read the book and finished it last year.  There’s more to this regarding the original novel, but I’ll explain that in a future Book Experience when I do one on Pride and Prejudice.

Onto this novel instead.  I actually saw it in Barnes & Noble one day, possibly when it was released, but I didn’t pick it up at the time.  I just went back home and told my brother, and he just got this bewildered look on his face, like “That’s so completely random!”  I have to say that having zombies in classical literature is rather random because… zombies?  It just seems very out of place to have zombies there, no matter what the reason.  Anyway I found this copy for much cheaper, so I decided to buy it and give it a chance.

I found out that the story is almost exactly the same, word-for-word, just with some random zombies and zombie attacks thrown in.  The problem I have is that the zombies don’t even disrupt the flow of the story.  The zombies aren’t even seen or treated as a threat, as a major one at that, especially since they can eat and kill you and have done so right at the beginning.  The story remains linear and unbroken, and it would have been interesting to see the zombies have some kind of effect, but they are almost like a nuisance they have to deal with, like flies in the house.  Why even have them in if they aren’t going to contribute much to the story, change the characters, all that?

Plus the whole thing with them studying in China or Japan… hm… I don’t know about that.  I love Elizabeth Bennett as a character, a strong female character, but this sort of put her and the others over the top.  I especially found it ridiculous that she was able to kill off three of Lady Catherine’s “deadliest ninjas,” rip out the still beating heart of the last one, and actually took a bite out of it.  Wha…  I don’t even.  How does this make sense?  Also, some of the lines and dialogue were changed to suit the entire zombie plot, but it just feels so awkward and a bit funny to read it, like it was an actual “serious” conversation.

So um, yeah.  I think there are just too many contradictions to make this a serious kind of novel, but it could work as a parody I suppose?  The illustrations are rather nice though, I can appreciate that.

So, that is it for my Book Experience on Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.  If you have your own Book Experience or thoughts on this, I’d love to hear about it!

Thanks for reading. Until next time, take care!

2 thoughts on “WordPress 014 – Book Experience 007 – Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith (Spoilers)

  1. klr65 says:

    The best part about reading this is I can just imagine you reading the sections (for example, the heart-eating) and looking up with a “wut.” face. And your comments “umm…” It made me giggle because I envision you saying it while reading the book!

    • Donna says:

      Oh I can assure you, my face was making hilariously befuddled expressions all throughout that particular scene, and I was probably trying to keep from bursting into laughter at the ridiculousness of it all. That was too much. Too too much. The way I write is pretty close to how I think and how I will say something out loud, so if I am “um”-ing, then it will show up in my writing too… sometimes that’s weird though. I like using ellipses “…” for my random pausing as well, which I do a lot when I’m speaking. I’ve also been told that I use it quite often, especially when I’m writing electronically (email and such), which is probably weird too. Oh well~

Leave a Reply

