WordPress 017 – Monthly Wrap-up 002 (May 2013)

Hi everyone.  The end of May is near, and this year is almost half over already. Well, that was quick, wasn’t it?

I’m doing my monthly wrap-up today for May 2013 on the books that I have finished this past month, and also, I will be picking from my Book Jar Vase to see what books I will be reading, which is really exciting, so yay!

Finished in May

ILoveYouPhilipMorris

I Love You Phillip Morris: A True Story of Life, Love, & Prison Breaks by Steve McVicker

Nonfiction for once!  I picked this book up way back when I saw the movie I Love You Phillip Morris starring Jim Carrey and Ewan McGregor.  I grew up watching Jim Carrey in his comedy movies and comedy role, so seeing him in this movie feels rather… out-of-place.  Because romance.  Not so much that it’s a homosexual romance (which takes it a step up), but just romance in general I suppose.  Anyway, enough about the movie, the story of Steven Jay Russell itself was rather interesting, so I enjoyed this book.  The “con” in “con artist,” as I didn’t realize and perhaps many people don’t realize, is “confidence,” and Russell sure had a lot of that to pull off what he did.

UBIK

UBIK by Philip K. Dick

This.  This book.  I put up a Book Experience on this in my last post, and this could be one of my favorites overall.  Very fast-paced, keeps you guessing up until the end, and surprise!  Packs quite a lot for such a “short” book, a little over 200 pages for this edition.

PrideandPrejudiceandZombies

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith

Also have a Book Experience up for this, and well… it’s a bit wanting.  This is coming from me as a fan of both Pride and Prejudice and the zombie… genre?  Sub-genre?  The whole zombie thing.

OneFlewOvertheCuckoosNest

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

I really enjoyed this book, really did, even though I kept thinking about prison instead of mental hospital that this was set in because I had been watching a lot of OZ, and the entire setting reminded me of it.  It feels very… like it has elements of being controlled by the “authority,” and this one person trying to challenge and change the status quo by not-outright rebelling but by… going against the authority in some way.  Really liked it.

InvisibleMonsters

Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

This took longer than I expected only because I needed to really keep everything straight in my head, as the narrator jumped back and forth between events so much.  I think it was the last half or the last third of the book where it all came together and made me go, “Wha- Wait, what happened?”  Surprise after surprise that made me have to rethink the entire story from the beginning.  I believe this is a book where the more you reread it, the better you will understand it.  I do like the thoughtful, poignant moments that the book had, making me think and ponder about the simple things in life.  So thank you, Kevin, for recommending this to me.

From the Book Jar Vase

I’m picking from my Book Vase for the first time!  Yeah, I’m calling it a Book Vase because it’s a vase, so… yeah.  I decided I’ll do three for this month because I’m reading at a decent pace thus far, and it’ll still give me room to read books that I want to read and am looking forward to reading.

BookVaseMurderRoom

The Murder Room by Michael Capuzzo

The subtitle reads: “The heirs of Sherlock Holmes gather to solve the world’s most perplexing cold cases.”  Now, Sherlock Holmes himself has a rather special place in my heart ever since I read A Study in Scarlet and a few others (which I need to reread again by now).  There are so many adaptations into movies and TV shows, which I all enjoy, so this will be another take on it I think.  I’m pretty sure I got this a while back, so now I’m finally going to read it!

BookVaseAnthem

Anthem by Ayn Rand

This was also recommended to me by Kevin, now that I remember, so what luck that I pulled this one out!  I don’t know much about it other than it seems to be very dystopian, but flipping through it, I realized that it’s actually much shorter than it appears, especially since the last half of the book is a facsimile of the first edition with all of her edits and rewriting specifically for the American edition.  So… this might not take me too long.

BookVaseSmokeThief

The Smoke Thief by Shana Abe

I showed this one off in my April 2013 book haul, but I actually had the paperback copy around for much longer than that.  I recently found a hardcover copy, which I prefer over paperback, so I decided to include it in the book haul anyway.  We’ll see how this one goes!

Well, that was fun, picking from my Book Vase.  I won’t add in any titles until I finish the rest off, so the more I read, the sooner I can add other titles in.  Summertime is going to begin soon, so I hope everyone had a great vacation and all that!

Thanks for reading. Until next time, take care!

2 thoughts on “WordPress 017 – Monthly Wrap-up 002 (May 2013)

  1. Well, now I have another book to add to my list. Invisible Monsters. I have heard plenty of great things about Chuck Palahniuk, but haven’t ever read anything by him. Of course, along with everyone else, I HAVE seen Fight Club…but that’s all.

    The Book Vase Idea, again, is rather neat. An easy way to choose a book, for sure! I have so many books I want to read right now, though, that I doubt I could pull that off. However, once I get through my ever growing list, this is something I would love to try. I have, literally, hundreds of unread books in totes…all bought on a whim from thrift stores. Definitely should do something with those…

    • Donna says:

      Invisible Monsters was quite a ride, and it did have that shock value at the end when you just couldn’t believe how much things that you’ve known can break down. I hope you enjoy it too. :) Let me know how it goes!

      It was really exciting to choose from it for the first time, and I’ve gotten books that I’ve forgotten about, but it makes me no less excited to read them. You certainly have quite a collection! Maybe even more than me! But I know that you spend a lot of time on your writing and PKD, so I hope you’ll find some time to read a little from the totes. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

