WordPress 019 – Book Haul 003 (May 2013)

Hi everyone!

It’s June, and that means I get to do my book haul for May 2013!  I didn’t think I was going to get a lot of books last month, but then I found out from my dad that the library near where I work was having a book sale in the middle of the month (he just knows these things because he visits libraries everywhere all the time).  So, thanks Dad!

201305hardcover201305paperback

There they are: 21 hardcovers and 8 paperbacks.

TuesdayswithMorrie

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Like I told the people there at the library book sale, I heard good things about this book, so I thought why not give it a try?

ForOneMoreDay

For One More Day by Mitch Albom

I actually saw this book first when I was there, and I saw how it was by the author of Tuesdays with Morrie.  Didn’t know much about it, but reading the summary got me interested in the story, so I picked it up.

PromisetoBelieveIn

A Promise to Believe in by Tracie Peterson

This is the first book in a series that I accidentally bought the second book in.  I would really love it if the publishers of series somehow note down that a certain book is 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc. in a series, so I know I need to buy the earlier ones!

ThiefLord

The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

I have heard about the Inkheart series, and I do have two of the books, but I haven’t read them yet.  Still I picked this up just to see how it is.

HushHush

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

I must say, I am intrigued by the cover of this book.  Black angel wings.  Fallen angels?  All that.

Pathfinder

Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card

The colors on the cover are beautiful, and I have yet to read Ender’s Game, but I picked up this book anyway.  Good to give things a try.

SecretofLostThings

The Secret of Lost Things by Sheridan Hay

This is about bookshops and a young person who loves books, so this is like… a story of me!  Sort of, but not really.  I think there are a lot of different characters in here, very… not normal, so this will be interesting for sure.

DeadMansPuzzle

Dead Man’s Puzzle by Parnell Hall

So I love Sudoku and love completing it, and there’s this mystery story revolving around Sudoku?  I don’t know how it can work, but I can see how it can work too.  Can’t wait to read this.

FallingBodies

Falling Bodies by Andrew Mark

I believe the main character has a very interesting outlook on life, and it has been challenged by tragedy, so I would like to see how he comes to terms with it.  Why am I always drawn to tragic characters?

BookofLostThings

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

I don’t know much about this book, only heard about it briefly here and there, and I think it’s about growing up and coming-of-age.  However, I really like the cover of the book.  Really eye-catching.

RoseLabyrinth

The Rose Labyrinth by Titania Hardie

So, this is a very interesting set-up because this is actually like a cover that holds the book inside as well as 20-some pages of these bits and pieces of clues that the character will be finding in the story.  So it’s rather interactive, and I can follow along as I read and maybe try to figure out the entire mystery before they do.  Really cool, and I hope that all the pieces are there, otherwise it’s like getting a puzzle and one of the pieces are missing.

Marley&Me

Marley & Me by John Grogan

I got so many different editions of this book, but I haven’t even read it yet!  Even though it’s about a dog.  But I think this is the most beautiful edition out there.  So pretty.

ConfessionsofaJaneAustenAddict

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler

I’m a bit iffy about the premise of this novel, how an Austen-obsessed girl is transported back through time to the Jane Austen era, but… it’s Jane Austen, so I should give it a try.  I mean, why not?

BrideCollector

The Bride Collector by Ted Dekker

I bought another book by him before, and this seemed just as equally interesting.  I’ve been into the whole crime thriller genre for a while now, and I’m getting back into it because I’m watching some forensics-related series on Netflix.  So yay.

RomancingMissBronte

Romancing Miss Bronte by Juliet Gael

It almost reminds me of Shakespeare in Love, basically a story revolving around the author and how they end up creating and writing their greatest work while dealing with their own lives.  I rather love Jane Eyre, so it would be interesting to see what comes of this.

Vanished

Vanished by Joseph Finder

This and the next book is the first and second of a series (and yes, I ended up having to buy this one because I didn’t realize Buried Secrets was the 2nd in the series).  But the main character is named Nick, and I have a lot of fondness with that name.

BuriedSecrets

Buried Secrets by Joseph Finder

I probably did buy this book because it said “Nick” down there.  Somewhere, deep down inside me, I hope that the character does the name justice.  I’m weird like that.

CrimsonPetalandtheWhite

The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber

So I had the paperback version of this for a long time, and then I found this one, so I bought it.  Still haven’t read it yet (I’m going to stop using that as an excuse once I actually read all of the books in my collection), but I will get there.

Cryptonomicon

Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson

I’ve been trying to fine Snow Crash by the same author for a while now, but then I saw this one and the next book, and I thought I’ll give these a try first since they sound real interesting.  I’ll be able to see if I like his writing style.

Quicksilver

Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson

You probably remember this from my “Big Books Tag” where I showed off this as one of the biggest books that I haven’t’ read yet.  And this is why!  I just got it.  :)

JaneAustennovels

Seven Novels by Jane Austen

I found this collection of Jane Austen novels, and I just snatched it up quick.  Very awesome find.  Sometimes you never know what you might find!

X-Men

X-Men by Kristine Kathryn Rusch and Dean Wesley Smith

A novelization of the movie I believe, and Wolverine is my favorite character, and I really love Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, so it will be interesting to see if there are more insights to him.

HisDarkMaterialsseries

His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman

Consisting of The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass, and I’ve never even seen the movie yet, even though my dad bought it a while back.  I actually didn’t know it was a novel until I saw this, so I decided to give it a try.

Choke

Choke by Chuck Palahniuk

So, after finished Invisible Monsters, I decided to give more of Chuch Palahniuk’s works a try, and I found this one in like the reference book section… I think because of the anatomy on the front?  Who knows.

TenderBar

The Tender Bar by J. R. Moehringer

I don’t know a thing about this, but this was a World Book Night 2013 book, and I participated in the first annual one in 2012 as a book giver (if you remember from my first bookish post), so seeing this out there seemed so sad.  So I picked it up.

FightClub

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Heard good things about this and the movie, both I don’t know much about, but at least I have the book now, so I’ll be able to read it and see what it is all about.

LiesMyTeacherToldMe

Lies My Teacher Told Me by James W. Loewen

A nonfiction book, and I think this is very interesting to find out what we’ve actually missed in history because of this mentality that the victor is the one who writes history.  What is one the other side that we normally don’t know about because we grew up in this one way of learning about history?

Alrighty, that’s all 29 books.  While I do have a lot of reading for class during the summer, I hope I’ll be able to read more for pleasure too and get some things done.  SO many good books out there, and they need to be read!

Anyway, thanks for reading as always. Until next time, take care!

Leave a Reply

