WordPress 021 – 7 Deadly Sins of Reading Tag

Hello everyone!  So this Thursday on this very busy week of mine, I’m going to do another one of these book-related tags because I think they’re fun to do, and it will break up the monotony of my Book Experiences.

The one that I choose to do this week is called the “7 Deadly Sins of Reading Tag,” which asks questions about books and reading based on the 7 deadly sins: greed, wrath, gluttony, sloth, pride, lust, and envy (and who else besides me learned and memorized what they were because of Full Metal Alchemist?).  The person who created it was BookishlyMalyza @ YouTube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rm0c56gcbsE

Here are the questions:

GREED – What is your most expensive book? What is your least expensive book?

I have way too many books to go through and check all of them (as well as remembering just how much they each cost me originally when I bought them), so I decided to just go for the price that is on the book itself.

SpecialIllustratedEditions

I think my most expensive books that I have are the “Special Illustrated Edition” of both Angels & Demons and The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown at $35.00 each.  Basically it’s the entire novel, but all throughout the story, they have images of what they are referring to.  Really neat.

GreatExpectations

My least expensive book is Great Expectations by Charles Dickens from 1963, and on the cover, it says it is only 45 cents.  This is probably one of my oldest books too.

WRATH – What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

I would have to say… J. K. Rowling?

*gasp*

Well, of course, I love (love love) how she had written Snape.  Snape is one of my favorite characters of all time, so harsh, so tragic, and deep deep down in a place where almost no one knew or understood him, he had this other side of him.

HarryPotterandtheOrderofthePhoenix

However, starting in Book 5, the main/major plot didn’t… seem as interesting as before (even though Voldemort himself came back from the… almost-dead), and it just got more and more disconnected with me.  The introduction of the horcruxes and the final battle between Harry and Voldemort didn’t draw me in very much.

Plus in Book 5, how Harry got so absurdly angry at Ron and Hermione where it was basically a page worth of ranting in all-caps, it just… didn’t do it very much for me sadly.  Snape’s single line of all-caps was much more powerful and gave a greater impact than Harry’s rant.  When you overuse something, it tends to lose its power/impact.

GLUTTONY – What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

For this, I’m going to say the romance novels written by Tami Hoag.  I rarely have time to reread anything, but romance novels seem to have a kind of stigma attached to them anyway, and it’s something that I’m rather “critical” about too.  I’m wary to try out the romance genre because I don’t want… instant falling in love and hopeless damsels in distress and all too perfect guys.  Give me flaws!  (More on that later.)

LastWhiteKnight

I actually started off with one called The Last White Knight that I got from a book sale on my university campus a few years back, and surprisingly, I enjoyed it very much.  The next ones I read were both crime thrillers, which I really really liked, so when I like an author, I set out to read as many books as I could written by him/her.  Tami Hoag first started off writing romance, so I read a lot of those as well as her current ones.  Her romance ones early on were a pretty fast read, but they were a bit too cliche at times, but I got through a lot.

SLOTH – What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Hm, there are a lot of books that I have started in the past, but I haven’t picked them up again to finish.  I did finish some these past couple of months, so I am working on them.

MystReader

The one book I do want to continue and neglect no further is The Myst Reader, which has three books in one volume based on the computer game Myst.  The books are called The Book of Atrus, The Book of Ti’ana, and The Book of D’ni.  The sketches in these books are beautiful.

PRIDE – What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

Uh… I like to talk about any books, as everyone can tell by my Book Experiences.  Any and all books, I think there is something to say about each of them.  I suppose classics make me sound more “intellectual,” but really, as long as you get something out of a book, no matter what it is, that is already meaningful!

LUST – What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

I’ll be answering for both because in my mind, I do have some idea of what I find “attractive,” as in the characters I would go for in a story.

Male – I find that I love the tragic male characters, those who have a lot of flaws and imperfections, those who have a past that might be painful, those who might be considered anti-heroes, those who might be misunderstood, misjudged, the underdog, the badass, the ones that people might end up hating and think are jerks, etc.  I don’t know why I love them either because they are the complete opposite of the guy you would bring home to meet your parents. Still, I love them so much.  <3

Female – Female characters are more difficult I find because I don’t really have a list of female characters who I really admire.  I like strong female characters and that they maintain that strength, even if they meet some guy.  Sometimes, female characters start off strong, but then when they meet someone, they fall for him and immediately crumble.

I like to point to Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen as a strong female character, but I am reading The Smoke Thief by Shana Abe as part of my Book Vase pick last month, and the character of Clarissa Rue Hawthorne has real potential.  I thought it might start off as a standard childhood crush, but when they meet again years and years later… she is still awesome.  Strong, determined, even rejecting him.  And the male character, Christoff “Kit” Langford, isn’t too bad either.  At least not as bad as I thought he might be (i.e. “too perfect guys”).  I love it!

ENVY – What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

Inferno

I actually gifted myself already!  I normally don’t buy new books, since I have other ways of getting them cheaper, but I had to buy Inferno by Dan Brown, the fourth in the Robert Langdon series.  I love how Dan Brown writes and have read all the novels he has published so far.  This one is going to about Dante’s Inferno, which makes me geek out even more.  I can’t wait to read it!  I just received it today in fact.  Yay!

And that was the 7 Deadly Sins of Reading Tag, almost late today with my post, but only because… I’m just busy forever I guess.  Too many things to do!

Anyway, thanks for reading as always. Until next time, take care and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

