WordPress 022 – Book Experience 011 – Anthem by Ayn Rand (Spoilers)

Hi everyone.  I hope you’ve all been able to relax with some great books so far.

Today is another Monday, and my Book Experience this week will be on Anthem by Ayn Rand.  WARNING: There will be spoilers, more likely than not.

Anthem

I recently found this really nice copy of Anthem, so it’s replacing the other one that I had.  I love the cover and how it looks like old, delicate paper, and it’s one of those paperback novels that randomly has flaps on the front and back covers.  Plus, deckle edge pages.  :)

Anyway, I didn’t know much about any of Ayn Rand’s works, even though I’ve heard so much about her as a person.  I think I had a chance to read one of her novels (The Fountainhead) back in middle school for a scholarship, but I ended up not doing so because… adult novels were intimidating back then.  Kevin did recommend this to me in one of his letters a while back, so thank you!  Also, this was one of the books I had chosen out of my Book Vase last month, so I’m glad to have read it.

First of all, I was surprised that it was much shorter than I realized, since they reprinted a facsimile of her first edition with all of her edits and rewriting for the American edition in the second half of the book.  So, it was really only about 100 pages long.

The themes in the story are definitely very familiar to me, very dystopian as I had guessed, so it reminds me a lot of dystopian books I had already read.  I love the progression of the story as well, the entire journey of self-discovery as Equality 7-2521 broke away from what he knew of the world.  I love the story between Equality 7-2521 and Liberty 5-3000 (a.k.a. the Golden one).  I don’t think I can properly or adequately convey what these 100 or so pages have laid out; it was a great experience when I read it.  The words, I don’t have enough to explain.

There was one part where the description of the sky just made me go, “Whoa…”  I wish I had such command of words:

“In five hours, the shadows are blue on the pavement, and the sky is blue with a deep brightness which is not bright.”

It’s the description of dusk, by the way.  It just gives me chills.  It’s so good.

This is a rather powerful 100 pages that I’ve read, and I wish I could say more about it, but I’m at a loss.  Feel free to discuss with me, definitely.

Thanks for reading. Until next time, take care!

2 thoughts on “WordPress 022 – Book Experience 011 – Anthem by Ayn Rand (Spoilers)

  1. klr65 says:

    I remember when I first read this, I needed it at that point in my life. It was self-validating. And just the idea of the ego.

    What do you think about the names they chose for themselves?

    • Donna says:

      Oh! I love the concept of self here, how they were trying to redefine themselves and find themselves, figure out just who they are as a singular person instead of what they grew up with. “Ego” was the perfect word to end it all, and how it implied so much more.

      I thought Prometheus was very apt, especially since he did “discover” light and brought it to his people, even though they pretty much rejected it. And Gaea, I’m sure, held some significance to Prometheus himself because she was going to be the first woman in his life that meant something to him.

      Really simple, but really powerful too. :)

Leave a Reply

