WordPress 023 – The Name Game Book Tag

Hello everyone!  The weather has been glorious these past few days, and I’ve been sitting outside during the afternoon to read and just loving it.  Of course, I’m mostly reading for classes, but I’m actually ahead of my reading right now for that, which is almost a first.  Normally I’m just bogged down forever by reading, so this week, I’m looking forward to getting a lot more pleasure reading done.

This week, I’m going to do a tag called the “Name Game Book Tag,” which asks you to choose a book that you read/own that begins with the letters of your name.  The person who created it was KimberleysBookNook @ YouTube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVMZjVsQrfU

Now, most of the people who did this tag on YouTube had long first names, so they only did their first name.  On the other hand, I have a short full name with only 9 letters, and I have 3 N’s and 2 A’s, so I’ll just do my entire name because why not?

Here we go!

D

DarcysPassions

Darcy’s Passions by Regina Jeffers

I found this book when I was browsing around in Barnes & Noble a few years ago, and I saw Darcy’s name on the cover.  I thought to myself, “Huh… The only “Darcy” I know is Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice.”  So I checked it out, and it turned out to be this!  I didn’t even know this was a thing (now I do), that authors can write essentially “fanfiction” about something as classic as Pride and Prejudice.  I love getting to read it from the point of view of Mr. Darcy, and this was one I really enjoyed.  I read another by a different author, but it was pretty much a summary of what happened without much insight into Mr. Darcy’s character.  I liked the way Regina Jeffers wrote it.

O

OneFlewOvertheCuckoosNest

One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

This novel surprised me in a way because I didn’t know much about it and didn’t expect much from it, but it was a great read.  I like the character of McMurphy and how he was like, and you can read my Book Experience (# 010) on it if you like.

N

NineteenEightyFour

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell

Perhaps one of the first dystopian novels I’ve read, and it really pulled me into the genre because I think we can learn a lot about humanity from them.

N

NarrativeofArthurGordonPymofNantucket

The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket by Edgar Allan Poe

I’m familiar with Poe’s poetry and his short stories (I remember reading “The Tell-Tale Heart” as an audiobook in class back in 8th grade, and it was so creepy), but I didn’t know he had written something novel-length.  Apparently, it’s the only one, and… it was really something.  The Rime of the Ancient Mariner by Samuel Taylor Coleridge reminds me of it.  Fun fact that my professor told me: note the similarity between the names Arthur Gordon Pym and Edgar Allan Poe.

A

Anthem

Anthem by Ayn Rand

Just read this and put up my Book Experience on it, and it’s really a deep, thought-provoking book.  It makes me think a lot, which is a plus for any book.

P

PhantomTollbooth

Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

Now this book brings me some nostalgia.  I read it in 6th grade, and I remember my teacher having us try out the Mobius strip, and it was so awesome.  It was rather mind-blowing back then, and I’m glad to have read this book, which makes all school things like reading and math rather fun.

H

Holes

Holes by Louis Sachar

I’ve read all the goofy Wayside School books, so I was hesitant to read this one for a long time because I didn’t think it would be “serious,” but man, was I wrong.  I really liked the story, and I was especially surprised by how much I like the story with Katherine Barlow.  So tragic.  And this was one of the books where I didn’t know it was made into a movie, and I watched it with my best friend and enjoyed it as well.

A

AnimalFarm

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Ugh, this book.  It feels so innocent at first, like a fable story because come on, talking animals.  I was thinking they were going to get justice and live happily ever after, but nope.  I didn’t expect it to get so sinister at the end, and it was just terrifying how it got to that point.  Really love it.

N

NightSins

Night Sins by Tami Hoag

Haven’t showed off this author yet, even though I’ve mentioned her.  I read many of her books, both the romance ones she used to write and the crime thrillers she currently writes.  I was surprised in the end by quite a few of her crime thrillers because I didn’t expect this person to have done it instead of that person, so I really like that about it.  Also there is a touch of romance, which I can’t resist, between the normally two main characters, and it’s not so cloying or obvious, and it doesn’t detract or distract from the story itself.  Plus, many of her female characters now are pretty strong characters, which is a plus.

And that was my Name Game Book Tag.  It was hard to choose one book sometimes, so I’m glad I got to choose a few for N and A.

Anyway, thanks for reading as always. Until next time, take care and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

