WordPress 024 – Book Experience 012 – The Smoke Thief by Shana Abe (Spoilers)

Hi everyone, and happy Monday!  I’ve been wondering if I can do something else on Mondays, something Book Experience related but from a different medium, but I’m not sure yet.  I feel like I’m putting these out way too often, and it would be fun to do something different, like I do on Thursdays with the tags.  We shall see.

This week’s Book Experience will be on The Smoke Thief by Shana Abe.  WARNING: There will be spoilers, more likely than not.

SmokeThief

So I had the paperback version of this book for a while on my bookshelf, and a couple of months ago, I found a nice hardcover version to replace it.  Normally that’s what I prefer anyway, and I pulled this title out of my Book Vase last month to read for this month.

What interested me about this book was that it said it was about a thief who was a woman, and there’s this guy trying to catch her.  There are also supernatural plots and themes mixed in with it, which is what I liked, and the woman seemed to be a strong female character, especially if she was able to elude capture for so long.  The thing was the romantic aspect of the novel made me unsure whether or not I would actually enjoy it because like I said in the “7 Deadly Sins of Reading” tag (post # 021), I didn’t want the romance to be the thing that ends up breaking the strength of the female character.  And I didn’t want the male character to be… so obviously attractive.  Prince Charmings are too easy.

Anyway, in short, this novel really surprised me.  I really enjoyed this and really loved the female character, Clarissa Rue Hawthorne.  She had a crush on the main guy Christoff “Kit” Langford when she was younger, and I was worried that when they met again when they were grown up, she would fall for him again, but nope. She made it difficult for him, and it was oh-so-good.  Kit almost felt like the typical privileged kid, son of the Marquess and Alpha to this clan of drakon, but when he grew up, he wasn’t… too annoyingly arrogant or anything.  He was sometimes the teasing kind of guy, but he was also serious when he needs to be, which was a plus.  Really enjoyed the characters.  Not too sure about Zane thought, only because he was rather young.

And the entire concept of the drakon, shapeshifters who can “Turn” from human to smoke to dragon and back again, was really interesting, and I thought it was executed rather well.  It became rather pivotal in different scenes, and they had to use it with concentration and care in order to escape or whatever, so I liked how that was incorporated into the story with some real use (instead of just having it be something “different” like “Oh look, they can turn into smoke,” and that’s it, nothing else). I really like the images I got from it.

Anyway, this first book prompted me to get the others in the series.  I got the second and third books, which I will show off in this month’s haul, and I hope to read them soon.  However, I don’t believe they follow Clarissa and Kit as much, so hmph.  Anyway, I look forward to them.

Thanks for reading my Book Experience. Until next time, take care!

Leave a Reply

