WordPress 028 – Book Experience 013 – Inferno by Dan Brown (Spoilers)

Hi everyone, it’s Monday!  No, there’s no video today, but there will be one next week revealing what I plan to do for the rest of that week.  I’ll half-reveal it on Thursday, but I’ll make a proper video doing that whole revealing bit on Monday.

I’m excited for this week’s Book Experience because it will be on Inferno by Dan Brown.  WARNING: There will be spoilers, more likely than not.

Inferno

First of all, I didn’t get into Dan Brown or any of his books right away; there was just so much hype/controversy over The Da Vinci Code when it came out in theaters that I just didn’t want to get into all that (I tend to avoid things because of hype).  When it came out on DVD, my father bought the DVD to watch, but it wasn’t until later that I too watched it and loved it.  I just really liked the entire… mystery aspect of solving puzzles to get to the next clue kind of storyline.  It’s probably why I liked National Treasure with Nicolas Cage a lot… just anything that has to do with solving things: Sherlock Holmes, Lie to Me, forensic shows, etc., seeing things get solved and how they get solved.  (Although, I must say the scene with Silas self-flogging was a bit much… and I liked Silas as a character.)

Anyway, so I read the book afterward and found out that Dan Brown had written others, so I wanted to check those out too.  I read Angels and Demons, which was actually the first book about Robert Langdon, then I read his two stand-alone novels: Deception Point and Digital Fortress, both that I really liked.  I just really loved his writing style, the mysteries, his plots and the twists he writes because I always get so caught off-guard, and I liked how it keeps me second-guessing myself.  I don’t know if all that he’s written is true, since it is fiction and all that, but I enjoy the very real world he portrayed.  I read The Lost Symbol when it was released, and now, Inferno.

Before getting into Inferno itself, I have read Dante’s Inferno during my undergrad for a comparative literature class, so I was familiar with it and was SO excited that Dan Brown’s newest book was based on it.  (I get a little geeky over literature, so yeah.)  I read the whole thing and did a lot with the professor on the “Nine Circles of Hell,” even wrote a paper on it, and it was just an enjoyable experience with it.  I hoped to read Purgatorio and Paradiso someday.

Having read all of Dan Brown’s books prior, I didn’t expect this one to start out with Robert Langdon injured so seriously, but yeah… that happened.  I mean, Langdon gets into a lot of sticky situations with a lot of risk and possible injury and death, but this book started out that way and didn’t let up at all.  It was so crazy.

I think it’s hard to keep up the action page after page, but it did, and I just love the fast-paced-ness of it all.  I finished the entire thing in two days, and it was like a movie.  I had a feeling that not everything or everyone is as they appear to be, since Dan Brown likes twists so much (and I have no idea how it does it every single time).  But every time I thought I figured out something, it turns out to be something else, and I literally went back to double-check the flashback scene with the character meeting Zobrist to see if Dan Brown had given any hint of who had that flashback because I thought for sure it was that guy.  For sure!  But, no, I was wrong and made a natural, hasty jump.  I think Dan Brown just knows how much hint to give and withhold in order for the reader to make the wrong jump in their mind, and then when he reveals it chapters later, you wonder, “Wait a minute…” and go back to check and find out, yep, you got it wrong after all.  I think it takes some talent as a writer.

From what I remember of Dan Brown’s past antagonists, they weren’t really inherently “evil.”  I mean sure they were the “bad guys,” but not all bad guys are bad or evil or anything like that, and that’s what I like.  People are complex, and good aren’t always good and bad aren’t always bad, so I like how Dan Brown portrayed Zobrist as a un-bad bad guy.  In the end, you realize that he could have done a whole lot worst, but he didn’t, and he was just trying to help humanity in this kind of way.  It may not be the “right” way or the “good” way, but then you have to think, what would be the “right” way, and how many people could do better?

I think it says a lot about humanity as a whole, that we can do simple things to make things better, but most of the time, we are just content to just being blind to everything.  How would we change as a whole unless someone forced us to adapt to a certain situation?  We don’t really change willingly; we just adapt as we need to.  Something to think about.

So, thanks for reading my Book Experience on Inferno, and if you have your own thoughts on the book, discuss it here!

Until next time, take care!

4 thoughts on “WordPress 028 – Book Experience 013 – Inferno by Dan Brown (Spoilers)

  1. I just finished reading Inferno last week…it took me 2 months to read it. I found it hard to get into and very predictable. My review isn’t on my blog yet…but when it is I plan on writing that it’s probably not the best Dan Brown has to offer. Which was a bummer!

    • Donna says:

      Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy it as much as you expected from it! We’re all going to experience different things and get different things from the same book, so I would be interested to hear what you thought was predictable and such. :)

  2. I didn’t read all of this experience, as I wanted to avoid spoilers. However, I wanted to mention that I read both Deception Point and Digital Fortress as well and liked them. Deception Point, especially. Brown my not be the greatest writer around, but the stories he tells are quite good.

    Also, would it be better for me to read The Divine Comedy before going into this book? I’ve read it before, but that was years ago. I just so happened to pick up a copy on my latest thrift store run.

    Thanks for reminding me to put this book on my list!

    • Donna says:

      Spoilers spoilers! Be warned! You can read it again when you are finished with the book. :D

      It’s been a while since I read Deception Point and Digital Fortress, but I liked them as well, as I said. It’s just something about the type of story that he writes I suppose. Gets me all hooked into it, wanting to discover and figure out the next clue.

      It’s been a few years for me as well, and I think you will remember more than you believe! However, I don’t think it will hurt rereading it again and see if you can figure out certain clues before they are revealed in the story. It mostly focuses on the Nine Circles of Hell, so just Inferno would be fine, which is what I read before. Didn’t get to Purgatorio or Paradiso, which I should!

      So many books! I love it. :D

Leave a Reply

