WordPress 032 – Monthly Wrap-up 004 and Book Haul 005 (July and August)

Hi everyone, let’s see if I can actually remember how to do this, shall we?

First of all, I’m combining the past two months into one monthly wrap-up and book haul post, mainly because July was a rather hectic time, especially near the end.  I won’t go into that too much though, but it was mostly good in the end.  I’m just all aflutter sometimes.

Anyway, to the post!

Finished in July and August

RobertFrostSelectedPoems

Selected Poems by Robert Frost

It was probably not the best idea to start a read-a-thon like two weeks before classes ended, but that’s what I did.  And I ended up starting on this book of poetry first, which wasn’t even on the “official” list of challenges, but what the hey, I finished it at least.  I only really knew two poems by Robert Frost, one of which I had to memorize in 6th grade, so it was nice getting to read the others.  And as I mentioned, the cover is gorgeous.

Julieseries

The Julie series by Jean Craighead George

I finished this series as well that I had planned to during the read-a-thon (though not during the read-a-thon itself).  I especially liked the last book since it focused more on the wolves’ point of view.  I think wolves are very cool (as do many other people, I’m sure).

MarielofRedwall

Mariel of Redwall by Brian Jacques

Also in the midst of things, I finished this book, which is the 4th in the series.  I started this a long time ago, and finally got around to finishing it.  I have many books by him, for nostalgia’s sake (Mr. Jacques, thank you very much T-T), and I’m going to get through them eventually.  I definitely haven’t caught up with my brother yet, who has already read most of them!

LoversDictionary

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

This was an interesting book that I found this past month or so, and I read one other book that was co-written by him and another (rather famous) author, John Green.  Basically this book is laid out like a dictionary, with words and their part of speech at the time, but instead of the definition, Levithan writes a scenario that sort of captures the meaning of that word.  There are both good and bad times in the book, as there are in any relationship, so it was a rather real portrayal of what love is/can be.

Book Haul for July and August

Impressively, I didn’t buy too many books these past two months at all, which is a plus (hopefully) because I’ll just read more than I am acquiring.  Aside from The Lover’s Dictionary that I bought, I also got:

SnowCrash

Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson

This was recommended to me by one of my classmates in the Master’s program, who basically posted it up on the discussion forum and told us to give it a read.  I finally got a copy of it, so hopefully I’ll get into this one soon enough.

9thGirl

The 9th Girl by Tami Hoag

I believe this is her latest book, and I’ve read quite a lot of her books so far.  I like the duo in this one (Kovac and Liska), and I should get back to reading more of her books to get them finished.

Anyway, apologies for all the sporadic updates and all, and I hope to get back to a more regular schedule, but who knows with real life!  Thanks for reading as always, and take care!

Leave a Reply

